Undoubtedly, the majority of people would be likely to be happy in their lives. While the different cognition of happiness from individuals make it hard to define, and there are some common factors we all shared play a vital role in achieving happiness.

With the different background of life and culture, happiness means something different to each person. And it is the difference increase the difficulty to define happiness, because everyone is unique and cannot be copied. Some people, for example, regard a high standard of living and high rank of social status as happiness, whereas for the others believe their family members live a healthy and happy life as their own happiness. For another aspect, the opinions from one individual person toward to happiness are even different in different age. It is common that many children think enough time to play computer games is the happiest thing, but with the growth of age, the definition of happiness might change more than once.

The different cognition people hold, the different approaches that people achieve happiness. While there are some similar factors contribute to happiness. Firstly, it is hard for people to be happy if they live in an unsafe place and lack of enough food. Our basic need of life should be met before we can begin an optimistic life. Secondly, the pleasance of the mental aspect is an indispensable component of happiness. The achievement which makes people happy, to some extent, is basing on spiritual rather than on material.

In conclusion, happiness is difficult to define due to its different to each individual. But as far as I am concerned, basic material and spiritual needs are important to achieve happiness.