happiness. why is it difficult to define and what factors are important.

One of the key factors for a healthy life is happiness. However, there is no set definition as to what constitutes happiness. The factors involved in gaining this can be different for different people. This essay will discuss the difficulties in defining happiness and the various ways in which people can achieve it.

Most people describe happiness as a state of being free from worry or being at peace with one self. In other words, personal wellbeing and absence of worldly tensions is what makes them contented. While for the others it can be simple excitement at experiencing something new or joy while doing activities which gives them pleasure. Happiness can range from satisfaction to elation or overwhelming sense of joy. As people differ in their thoughts, sensibilities and character, the idea of what makes them happy is distinct too. Personally, for me happiness would be to be at peace consciously and subconsciously.

Several factors are responsible for acquiring happiness. For some, happiness is accomplishing simple skills like learning to paint or cooking a meal.This is especially true for youngsters who are jubilant at successfully learning how to ride a bike. Others are satisfied when they do well in their jobs. Power and wealth can act as a driving force for many as is seen with many successful business tycoons. Most people feel joyful when they are surrounded by their loved ones. It is no wonder that people feel cheerful on festivals as they spent time with their families, although there are some who prefer to be alone.

In conclusion, happiness can both be defined and achieved in various ways. It is of great importance that children are motivated to indulge in activities which brings them joy so that they can grow into positive adults.