Health care should not be provided for free regardless of a person’s income. The health of a person is in their own hands and they should, therefore, be held accountable for that. Do you agree with this opinion?

The shown statement argued that because people should take full responsibility for their own health, government are not supposed to offer free health care for citizens. This view is awfully wrongheaded, and I am strongly against it.

First of all, there are enormous factors which affect the health of a person that it is simply biased to blame individuals for their health problems. Environmental issues, for example, are also detrimental to personal health. A real life proof is that there are thousands of people in Japan who suffered from the Fukushima accident which resulted from radiation leak of nuclear power plant. In this case, it is the government who should be held accountable for the health of citizens rather than individuals. How could government walk away from the responsibility to offer health care for the victims?

Furthermore, the fast development of capitalism as well as corporate lobbyist meddling in legislation has significantly reshaped the health, medicine and insurance industry, which unfortunately makes it incredibly expensive for the working class to access affordable health care. In fact, the health insurance company commonly abuse their information advantage over devastating patients, which usually causes them extra financial pressure to get reasonable insurance coverage. An outrageous example is a hedge fund manager purchased the patent of an effective AIDs medicine to raise the price from $13.5 to $750, in order to make a fortune out of the suffering of patients. Therefore, government as lawmaker is crucial for protecting unprivileged citizens from greedy corporations.

Not to mention the basic role of government is to serve for the wellbeing of its people regardless of their social classes. It is defiantly irresponsible for the government to avoid to take care of public health.