Health: In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In the modern world, the average lifespan becoming increasingly longer. Some people believed that the ageing population can lead to various negative influences, while others hold an opposite side . there are two main negative issues associated with this phenomenon, and also two remedies we can adopt.

It is undeniable that although the popularity of long-aged people in various nations as a result of the significant development on medicine is considered as a positive effect, this phenomenon still has two problems. Firstly, as the number of retired people rises rapidly, the budget that the Government has to pay for pensions and health services increases dramatically. Secondly, the long life expectancy can lead to the overpopulation which causes the lack of food, clean water and accommodation in some nations, especially in poor or developing countries. It is clear that the ageing population has not only negative impacts on the life of the people but also on the economies of countries.

In my opinion, to solve these problems, raising the retirement age, for example from 60 to 65 years old in Vietnam, may be the simplest solution. In the modern age of advanced medicine, people in this age tend to be healthy enough so they can continue to contribute to their job. Additionally, the Government should impose a law on population planning that can alleviate overpopulation.

In conclusion, although the increasing life expectancy can lead to some serious issues, I believe that a number of measures should be done by the authorities to overcome the problem.