A horizontal city or a vertical city
Some people believe that living in a horizontal city is the best, while the opponents of this idea prefer to settle
in a vertical city. While there are benefits to residents who dwell in a city which consists of low-rise
construction, I would argue that cities with skyscrapers and high-rise buildings offer more advantages.
On the one hand, it is beneficial for residents to live in a horizontal city based on a few financial and security
reasons. Firstly, people have to pay less for building services. If residents settle in a private house, they may
save a great deal of money since they will not have to pay for building services. Secondly, living lower to the
ground is safer for inhabitants when emergencies occur. For example, if a fire starts in the home, they can
quickly escape from the dangerous areas because the building is not too high off the ground and it will not take
much time to leave.
On the other hand, it seems to me that living in a vertical city is the best choice. A city with skyscrapers will
have more space for public usage because there will be less land used for residential areas due to the amount of
people who can live in high buildings. As a result, the government would be able to use this land to build
hospitals, schools or places for entertainment. Furthermore, it is much more convenient for residents to live in
an apartment in a tall building which offers a wide range of goods and services, thanks to shopping malls and
service centers on lower floors.
In conclusion, while living in a horizontal city does have some benefits, it seems to me that the advantages of
life in a city with skyscrapers makes living in a vertical city the better choice.