As housing a basic need for people, the government should provide free housing for everyone who can not afford it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been an argument that people with low economic status ought to be given a complimentary house by their government due to a house being a fundamental dwellers’ demand. In this essays, while I acknowledge the reason of this idea, I would argue that this argument could be misguided

The foremost rationale for this idea could be that there are strong correlation between the low economic status and the social sustainability. It is evident that people who have low income tend to commit crimes, compared to the counterpart with high income due to lack of basic needs including housing. This could lead to the increasing the level of unsustainability and impeding the nations’ path to thriving. Therefore, if the government put more resources into providing no charge housings, several problems associating with people living below the poverty line could be addressed.

However, I believed that this idea could have some implicit drawbacks. Firstly, providing free housing can instill into the poor the sense of dependence. It means that they could be likely to consider the supports of the governments as an apparent duty and have no motivation to look for a job. This not only cannot tackle the problem thoroughly, but also lead to the increase in the rate of unemployment. In addition, if the governments provide poor dwellers with complementary accommodation, other perspectives such as healthcare or education might be allocated less national budget. This, as a result, could take a toll on the general growth of a country.

In conclusion, free housing could give rise to several problems to the thrive of a country. And the government should have substitutable remedies which could be more practical in supporting people living with low economic conditions.