How do you define "failure"?

How do you define “ failure”? Is it when you lose a game? Is it when you get a bad score on a test? Or is it when you dropped out of university? In my opinion, failure is giving up easily when you confront with some difficulties. Henry Ford said: “Failure is simply the opportunity to begin again, this time more intelligently”. Failure is nothing but step stones to success. It is failure that makes people mature, experienced, and committed to achievement. Failure is not the end, but it is an excellent chance for us to start anew when we have experience, will not repeat the previous mistakes, and will begin smarter than before. Failures will give us lessons about the causes of failure so that we can find ways to overcome those causes and succeed the next time, so the old saying “ The failure is the mother of success”. Take Doan Thi Hai Duong as an example, she used to fail university twice, but she still persevered. Now she has received a PhD scholarship at Max Planck Research Institute which is regarded as one of the world’s and Europe’s major associations for scientific and technology research organizations. Another example, Jack Ma who has become famous recently is a good case in point. He dropped out of college twice, was rejected by Harvard ten times, and failed to apply for jobs thirty times. But he is now the richest man in China. We can see that they used failure as a motivator in the journey of their success. It just tells them that they took the wrong path and they have to change it to success. Life is full of ups and downs, and failure is unavoidable; therefore we should not fear it. I love these two quotes: “ Failure is giving up before you tasted success. Success is not giving up when you tasted failure”.