A segment of society opines that it is possible to alleviate environmental problems caused by human beings while others believe that we have run out of time. This essay will further discuss both facts with appropriate examples then draw a logical conclusion.

Wiped out flora and fauna in many parts of the world cannot be revitalized because of radiation and chemical waste. It was estimated that the current extinction rate is a thousand time higher than the natural rate, due to deforestation and other human activities Perhaps, spreading radioactive materials that made trees unable to regrow in the nuclear catastrophe in Chernobyl, Ukraine, is a prominent example. Similarly, toxic waste dumped into To Lich river in Vietnam by cement manufacturers has cleared almost every creature living underwater, except for bacteria and other microorganisms. Despite the ceaseless efforts made by the environmentally conscious authorities and environmentalists to pick up flowing litters and get rid of impurities using chlorine, it is still impossible for fish to repopulate because all the aquatic plants- their shelters, have vanished.

Some of the man-made consequences to the natural habitat, on the other hand, could be ameliorated. Habitat fragmentation can be solved by demolishing some inessential facilities such as small houses, roads and other factors contributing to this concern. For a lynx protection scheme in Europe, by 2010, all the farms located in this endangered animal’s territory had been demolished, allowing them to thrive without worrying about farmers. Besides, some other concerns like deforestation or greenhouse gases can be tackled by planting more trees or sequestering Co2. They demonstrated, I believe, that the destroyed habitats can possibly be brought back to their original states.

To conclude, despite the fact that some animals and plants cannot be recovered, we should not be pessimistic about mitigating what we have done to our Earth. Therefore, we should continue our preservation plans and save our mother nature.