Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the

causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what ef ects does it have on the people concerned and on

society as a whole?

Agreeably, one of the main causes of illiteracy is poverty, widely-observed in low-income communities. Because of the lack of financial resources some families cannot send their children to school and in many cases such children start to work in young ages in order to support their families which causes early school drop-outs. Secondly, individual disabilities such as dyslexia and blindness increase rate of illiteracy. Nowadays, this case mostly affects adults, because at times when they studied at school such disabilities were not widely recognised. Fortunately, countless researches have been made on this issue and children have higher chance to overcome such problems.

The main problem illiteracy creates for individuals is trouble finding a proper job. Normally, illiterate people can barely accomplish daily tasks, for instance, ordering a food, doing shopping. Such people work on low wage jobs and have a little chance to get promotions. As a result, these people have low self-esteem and are not encouraged to improve themselves. All of these factors can lead to psychological problems and depression. Additionally, in communities where illiteracy levels are high unemployment rate is higher 2-4 times. Increased rate of unemployment in its turn have a negative effects on economy and on society as a whole by making living standards lower.

It seems that, illiteracy problem mainly stems from economical conditions of countries and when not solved causes a lot more complications to society.