The importance of academic subjects compared to extra-curricular activities is increasing every day. Some people suggest that sports classes should be sacrificed in high school so that students can concentrate on academic subjects. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge.

Learning academic subjects in the schools has assumed a greater significance now than ever before. In this context, some people believe that we should suspend sports and games at the secondary level to pay undivided attention to academic activities. In my opinion, since education aims at achieving the all-round development of the individual, extra-curricular activities should also be incorporated in the school education.

Firstly, concentrating on studies with no extra-curricular activities included would tend to make a student dull and unsociable. Often, children are made to study their lessons continuously to get better results in the examinations. However, this would make learning probably a dull and monotonous affair. On the other hand, games can revive and replenish one's capacities to absorb new knowledge. They revitalise the students' abilities, and that would, in turn, augment their academic studies too. That is why educational experts emphasise the importance of extracurricular activities in the school curriculum.

Secondly, sports make students both physically and mentally fit wherewith they imbibe many positive qualities. That is, students acquire qualities such as punctuality, sportsman spirit, and team spirit and so on by engaging themselves in sports and games. For instance, there is a possibility for both defeat and victory in games, and a sportsman-spirited always takes it positively, as they realise that both success and failure are an inevitable part of every game. Thus, the students can learn how to keep humble at victories and not to be disappointed in defeats.

Therefore, a balanced approach is more desirable. In my opinion, notwithstanding the importance of academic studies, a reasonable amount of time allocated for sports and games would only embellish and enrich the various faculties of both mind and body. In fact, such a decision would have a positive impact on the academic studies as well.