With the improvements in today’s health care, society has to care for more and more elderly people.

Do you feel that society will be able to cope with the increase in numbers of elderly people today and how can it be managed?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is no doubt that the modern health care has become developed over the years. Due to the improved medical facilities, people are living longer. As the number of the elderly people are increasing, the society would have to become more equipped in caring for them. Different facilities like retirement homes, elderly check etc can be implemented to serve the older generation.

Since modern knowledge has helped in spreading cautious tale about health, people now have healthy and balanced lifestyle. As a result, they are less infected with diseases and so the approximate life expectancy has increased. Moreover, diseases associated with old age, diabetes, high blood pressure, can easily be cured with modern technologies. So, even really old people are enjoying their life to the fullest. Consequently, the society has to change according to the need of the older people.

There is a rise in the number of retirement homes in suburban areas. The homes are like a safe heaven to the elderly with incurable diseases like dementia which is facilitate with modern and new equipment to serve them. For example, dementia, a disease associated with memory loss, patients need regular attending and special exercising which is almost impossible in the city but in the retirement homes the patients can get the proper care without any issues. Furthermore, retirement homes place different age groups together so the residents there do not feel isolated and alone and can enjoy their last moments of their lives with their peers. In addition, the family members and in many cases volunteers can time with the retirees there any time they want.

On the other hand, many elders want to live with their families instead of coming to the retirement homes. Although it is a noble thought, sometimes the families may not be able to bear the medical expenses. Therefore, the government of many countries pay the families with elderly check in order to alleviate some financial crisis.

The elder generation had witnessed all the changes that happened to our society. So in conclusion, we need to take better care of them to show our gratitude for their service as a community.