The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

In this current era, it is a brutal fact that the more manufactured commodities for consumption, the more deterioration has been inflicted on the natural environment. Population boom and enterprise profit are the two prominent roots of this practice which can be radically tackled by enforcing laws and fines as well as spreading green awareness among consumers.

Admittedly, overpopulation and business benefits are the core grounds to harm the environment. Perceptibly, the raising population makes a number of corporation ramp up their production which forces them to overexploitation of natural resources to satisfy the growing world’s demands. Furthermore, myriad businesses want to maximize the amount of money albeit catastrophizing the environment inhumanly. To slush spending, these companies use non-biodegradable materials which are cheap to produce environmentally unfriendly goods. Another profiteering action is that they ignore the waste disposal processes which are detrimental to their interests and unlimitedly discharge hazardous effluents into the ocean or the air.

Nevertheless, this adverse reality can be arrested by setting stricter laws and enhancing mass consciousness. First and foremost, authorities need to institute firm trials and penalties for manufacturers so that the damage caused by their waste and emissions to the environment is minimal. Besides, they should be encouraged to shift towards greener initiatives with eco-friendly merchandise. Importantly, spreading consumer perception should be the priority of governments and the public. They should be told to perceive the drawbacks of consumption insatiably to natural life and utilize the 3 Rs as much as possible to concrete the supply from plants.

To put it succinctly, the environmental degradation exerted by population growth and corporate profiteering activities should be addressed by imposing heavy penalties and raising consumer awareness.