Increases in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve this problem?

It is clear that customers have tended to demand more goods, which leads to environmental degradation. While this trend is attributable to some reasons, it can be alleviated in some ways.

On the one hand, there are two primary reasons why an increasing trend of producing household products obviously have to occurs. One reason is that we have had to cope with an unprecedented population explosion, which clearly makes an increased productivity from suppliers to satisfy the large number of buyers. Enormous markets like China and India are places which many companies desire to break into thanks to their size of population. Consequently, such areas are motion to increase productivity and grow a business. Another reason comes from technological breakthroughs, which help manufacturing to dramatically rise. For instance, it is undoubted that automatic manufacturing lines that present more ubiquitously in many different kinds of sectors such as assembling cars or computers make production of goods become more effective and faster.

On the other hand, the negative impacts of this trend can be taken over by some initiatives. Firstly, susceptible resources should be widely used to alleviate environmental problems. For example, producers can reduce the reliance on machines operated by fossil fuel if they use alternative energy sources such as hydroelectricity or solar power instead. Secondly, governments should adopt related rigorous disciplines to regulate depletion of natural resources stemmed from intensive industrial processes. For instance, separating waste originally and recycling, which are two important methods to save finite resources should be high on government agenda.

In conclusion, while the productivity growth of producing goods is inevitable due to population explosion and technological development, I think that we have many solutions to control its negative influences through legislation and material revolutions.