An increasing number of advertisement on Tv aim at children. What are the effects of television advertising? Should television advertising be controlled?

It is argued that there are numerous adverts on television with the aim of children as a way to raise their number of sales. This phenomenon exerts some detrimental effects on both children and their parents, and I am of the opinion that some measures should be put forward to tackle it.

When children become the main customers who companies gear toward, they and their parent will be burdened some unwanted outcomes. First and foremost, children will be swayed by advertisements to insist on their parents to buy products impulsively. While young customers are frequently not fully equipped with abilities to differentiate between good products or not. Therefore, their parents would purchase products reluctantly following their children’s hobbies and interest to satisfy their children’s demand. This will lead to a reduction in their own budget. Another detrimental influence is that when there have too many adverts on television, children’s cognitive development will suffer from. This is because they would believe in all information on that adverts.

This trend makes me believe that some strict regulations should be imposed by government’s bodies. The explanation for this is that when the government enacts laws on companies, this will raise their awareness about the role of exact information conveyed on television. If they do not supply exact and enough information about their products, they will be punished. Consequently, not only children but also their parents will gain positive effects. Parents could save money instead purchasing products for their children without intention.

To conclude, numerous adverts on television are exerting detrimental effects on not only children but also their parents and I would contend that government should enact some strict laws to tackle this trend.