An increasing number of advertisements on TV aim at children. What are the effects of advertising? Should television advertising be controlled?

Majority of advertisements on social medias especially on television have focused on children and their products. Advertisements have both positive and negative impacts on people's life. In my opinion, I believe that some ads are irrelevant and give some misconception to public such advertisement should be censored.

Advertisements help to increase the rate of sales on market. It is undeniable fact that, mass number of people are influenced by the advertisements and they spent a large amount of hard earned money to buy unnecessary things. Moreover, advertisements companies produce ads by some famous personalities from different aspects like sports or films, as a result many people are following their favourite stars and buy such products though they are not really needed.

However, these advertisements have some advantages. Firstly, it provides an information to public about the new products that are available in the market. In addition to that people have a better chance to compare same products from different brands and able to select the best one among them.

It is true that advertisements holds both positive and negative effects. There are some ads are fake and cheat public. For example some milk formula companies show advertisement that these are best for infants because they claimed that it has more nutritional values. Therefore many breast feeding mothers start to use artificial milk formula than breast milk which are more healthy and safe for babies. Therefore, I believe that such ads should be regulated by governing body.

In conclusion, although advertisements have advantages and disadvantages, the audience should understand the use of products before they buy it. Moreover government should take necessary step to censor such ads that are unethical and unacceptable to society.