An increasing number of people are now using the Internet to meet new people and socialize. Some people think this has brought people closer together while others think people are becoming more isolated. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In recent years, the Internet has had a huge impact on the way people communicate. There is considered an upward trend in the number of people who are using the Internet to make new friends. Many believe that online communication can bond people together whilst others think that this is able to make people become isolated. In this essay, I will discuss both these sides and argue why the Internet has affected negatively human’s lives.

To start with, more and more people are now using several social platforms to broaden their social circles. Accordingly, this assists users to get access and connect with others more easily. For instance, the most popular social networking site, which is frequently used by young teenagers, is Facebook. Indeed, Facebook users can meet new friends from around the world without limits on time and places. Therefore, using social media is the most convenient way to meet new people. However, people are at risk of losing their real-life relationships when using these technologies in the wrong ways.

On the contrary, although using the Internet to make new friends can bring people a great number of benefits, it would make users become dependent on these modern technologies. Indeed, people can become more isolated and addicted to social media. Consequently, they will be able to lose their connection with their real worlds and be deepened into virtual life. That leads to the fact that they will become solitary from their family and significant others.

To conclude, there are more people who are now taking advantage of the Internet to socialize with friends. Some people are of the opinion that this way of communication has brought people together while others believe this can lead to isolation in some people. In the individual term, I believe that using the Internet to make friends is detrimental to users if they use it for a long period of time.