An increasing number of people are now using the Internet to meet new people and socialize. Some people think this has brought people closer together, while others think people are becoming isolated

Over the recent decades, the influence of the Internet on human life is undeniable. Some people hold the view that the cyber world, whereas others think that it has limited the real-life interactions among people. From my perspective, the Internet has done more good than harm.

There are several reasons why many people assume that the development of the Internet is making users become more separated from reality and other people. To begin, there is common belief that spending too much time using the Internet is likely to kill face-to-face communication. Nowadays, we have all seen the couples sitting together in a restaurant ignoring each other and engaging with their smartphones instead. Moreover, many teenagers prefer making friends online to mixing with their peers in the real world. Virtual relationships are definitely not a healthy substitute for real-life interactions. Due to these drawbacks of cyber world, it is comprehensive that many people hold prejudiced views towards the Internet.

On the other hand, I support the view that the Internet has the own benefits. It would be difficult for people from different countries to maintain the cooperation without the Internet. Nowadays, interactions by email, phone or video are almost as good as face-to-face meetings, and many of us benefit from these interactions, either in work or social contexts. During the pandemic, almost all employees have been asked to work from home and Internet has become more important than ever. Thanks to some applications such as Zoom, Google Meet or Google Drive, work or study become easier and more convenient even though people cannot go to works and schools. Therefore, it is obvious that Internet is an inseparable part of our lives.

In conclusion, online network brings both advantages and disadvantages to human life. However, I believe that the Internet can be more beneficial if users know how to take advantage of it.