An increasing number of professionals, such as doctors and teachers, are leaving their own poorer countries to work in developed countries. What problems does this cause? What solutions can you suggest to deal with this situation?

In the fast-paced society, brain-drain from underdeveloped or developing nations has become a global burning issue. This phenomenon even widely emerges amongst skilled manpower including doctors and teachers, which entails some catastrophic consequences on the long-term general development of the whole country. Albeit there exist some undesirable outcomes of this migration, societies can take steps to mitigate these potential risks.

There are several socio-economic issues associated with the explosion of specialists leaving their poorer countries. In terms of the social implication, such professionals are likely to fall victims to an intense competition taking place in the labor market in many economically-advanced regions. In fact, the nearly-epidemic proportions of brain-drain could be interpreted as the unemployment rate standing a good chance of witnessing a marked escalation. What is more, economic instability is another chronic headache which deserves more consideration. As the shortage of high-skilled workforce becomes more outstanding, the more severe stagnancies are witnessed in the well-rounded economic growth as well as the mandatory improvements in the living standards of residents from these developing nations.

It is high time that earnest and urgent endeavors to halt the migration of such professionals were jointly made by both the economically-advanced regions and poorer ones. On a larger scale, the authorities from the developing countries should call for international assistance concerning financial aspects with the aim of supplying such specialists with more incentives as well as enhancing their working conditions by investing more money in implement the extension of state-of-the-art infrastructures. This will stimulate the skilled manpower to devote proficiency and talent to the general development of their native countries. When it comes to the measure for developed regions, the government are supposed to enforce more migration policies to minimize the mounting rate of brain-drain. Such policies should be better stipulated with higher job requirements for these high-skilled manpower.

Taking these aspects into consideration, migration of professionals such as doctors and teachers is an inevitable trend in the contemporary world. There is no single solution to the problems accruing from brain-drain; therefore, it is required that the countries involved have to commit all their heart and soul to tackling the issue.