With an increasing overweight population some people think universities should make sport a compulsory module on all degree courses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the number of overweight residents are significantly increase in today’s society. Some people argue that making sport-related subject as a compulsory module on all courses degree could be an ideal solution to cope with this urgent problem. From my point of view, I totally agree with this idea.

On the one hand, universities are not the only institution could tackle this serious problem. The local authorities also have a responsibility of raising the awareness of their dwellers about the risk of putting on weight too much. By running some campaigns in order to inform people about the negative consequences of it, that could contribute greatly to the decrease of overweight population. Moreover, the government could also adopt policies to rise the taxes on all foods with a high fat and sugar. As a result, the consumption of this unhealthy food would noticeably fall due to its extravagant price.

On the other hand, universities play a vital role in helping their students prevent overweight. If they make a sport compulsory module on all degree courses, that would allow their leaners to burn off a large amount of fat and calories. As a result, students would be able to keep fit and stay in good shape. Moreover, this type of class could help students avoid sedentary lifestyle, which is detrimental to their health and strengthen their immune system. Hence, with better health, graduates could absorb knowledge easier, latter result in higher academic performances or records.

In conclusion, although the government could tackle with this problem throughout some reasonable policies, I still believe that making sport becomes a compulsory subject in universities is a one of the best solution that should be conducted.