Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Nowadays, many people believe that it is crucial to give effective solution for increasing the amount of vehicles and pollution issues by rising the cost of petrol. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the foregoing view, but I also consider other methods which are able to solve those problems.

A hot potato is existing in daily life of society which are known as the overcrowding traffic and pollution problems should be dealt by increasing the cost of petrol. Firstly, the rise of petrol price helps limit the amount of people who are classified into the average cost of living class, especially for workers. Instead of trying to manage budget for gas price, they are more willing to choose public transportation system in order to cover all aspects of their lives. Secondly, the less amount of vehicles occurs, the less dark fuel releases. Besides, the increase in price of petrol causes the falling of turnover of traffic, so the air can be protected and much cleaner by this method.

However, there are many measures which are taken into account to solve these problems. The first solution is that the government should increase significant tax on private vehicles. By this way, it directly impacts on the decision of buying cars of consumers, so it can be seen as the long-term effect. Organising many events or campaigns to raise awareness of car problems is considered as the second solution. For example, in UK, there has some car-free days, people are not allowed to use private vehicles for transportation. In this day, citizens are able to educate about many car issues toward the society day by day, so it gradually brings huge impact on people's thinking.

In conclusion, the price of petrol should be increased for the purpose of protecting society and people also ought to be aware of their behaviours.