Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is widely claimed that raising the cost of fuel is the most significant way to tackle traffic congestions and environmental impacts. This essay will agree with the following assertion and discuss what else can be done in order to achieve the same result.

To begin with, if the price of gas will experience an increase, more people will reconsider using their vehicles. As a result, less vehicles will be driven on a daily basis and more people will be encouraged to use public transportation which will reduce the pollution problems that we have in our environment and the car accidents that we see happening every day. Another way of thinking about this matter would be by understanding how people usually behave when they see something that they cannot afford. For example, when a person needs to buy something right away, he would most likely search for a similar item with approximately the same features for less money. Therefore, if the price of fuel will increment, it will become much more reasonable for people to leave their cars behind and find a substitute.

Furthermore, there are many other great solutions that can be implemented. One of the many is lowering the cost of public transportation. This can greatly help as it will become a better and more efficient as well as effective way for people to commute or just get from one point to another. Consequently, resulting in less gas emissions and fewer cars on the streets and most importantly, less casualties. For instance, when a person will find that it is more affordable to travel by bus or a train, he will definitely think about using it as a way to save money.

In conclusion, although increasing traffic and pollution problems become significantly worse for our society, many actions can be taken in order to find a solution.