Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Over the past decades, increasing traffic congestion and air pollution have become two major crises that many countries around the world are facing. To address these issues, some people believe that a rise in petrol price is the most effective approach, I, however, contend that other viable alternatives merit serious consideration.

Proponents opine that considerable cost of petrol acts as a deterrent, discouraging people to drive their own vehicles. They, indeed, are of the opinion that the number of cars on the roads is directly related to the amount of pollution up in the air. Therefore, if the residents of megacities stop using their private cars, not only will the harmful air pollution be mitigated but also dwellers experience less traffic volume on the roads.

Despite the benefit associated with this approach, the idea of increasing petrol expenditure is not without additional financial burden on governments. People’s growing interest to use public transport systems instead of their cars causes authorities to dedicate a generous budget to this sector to incorporate more buses and trains, recruit more staffs, and enhance the infrastructures.

However, there are other workable solutions that seem to be more fruitful than augmentation of petroleum expenses to cope with pollution and traffic issues. To begin with, if societies invest money wisely on improving the quality of oil products or substituting traditional types of fuels by renewable energies, alleviation of air pollution will be undeniable. Furthermore, governments could both impose tougher rules and develop roads’ infrastructures to control traffic jams. By introduction of car-free districts, widening roads, and adding more traffic lights, for example, the number of vehicles on the roads will be diminished and big cities will be less congested.

To conclude, that increasing petrol prices is the most beneficial method to deal with high traffic congestion and pollution is a preposterous idea, as it pressurizes the nations to hugely invest fund on public transportation. Other possibilities like setting out regulations and roads’ infrastructural improvements are definitely more advantageous.