Increasingly, people eat food from other parts of the world, rather than local food. What do you think is driving this trend? Is this a good or bad development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

With the booming development of transportation, food travels thousands of miles from different continents to the consumers, which makes local food less popular. In this essay, I will shed light on the factorS that lead to this phenomenon and its positive effects on humans’ life.

With regards to the underlying causes, firstly, it is the curiosity of foreign cuisine that incentivizes people to purchase food from another other countries. In fact, fast food such as pizza, hamburger or fried chicken are becoming more and more ubiquitous amongst youngsterS in Asea on account of its signature western flavour. Secondly, since the advent of food preserving technology using liquid nitrogen and antioxidantS, the storage of fresh products is prolonged, thereby gaining the trust of more customers. Furthermore, as there are more and more means of transport, long-distance shipping is facilitated. Hence, the price of food is reduced considerably, which makes it more effortless for people with A low budget to buy imported food.

In addItion, the increasing consumption of foreign food benefits humans in several ways. Initially, as the price is reduced, people can seize the opportunity to enjoy exotic cuisine, which used to be a privilege for royal family only. Moreover, it is an ideal way for dwellers in different regions of the world to exchange their cultural identities through the meaning of the dish. To illustrate, several crownded crowded Vietnamese restaurants in the USA offer chances for the American to get deeper insight in the Viet cuisine, which not only reinforce their relationship but also promote the development of tourism in both countries.

In a nutshell, it is the curiosity and the facilitation of shipping and preservation that encourage people to consume imported food, and this development brings a multitude of merits in the development of tourism and cultural understanding.