some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matter (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

It is acclaimed by some people that if children were permitted to make decision of their every day problems, they could become selfish in the future, whereas I believe teenagers ought to be determined about these matter. In this essay, I will shed light on both sides of the matter and give some reasons to support my view

On the one hand, the likelihood of children become selfish as they are allowed to make their own decisions daily is inevitable. Given the freedom to choose, some children may seize this opportunity to opt for whatever they think of, regardless of outer factors such as prices or the feeling of other people. Accordingly, they will gradually ignore the constructive advises from the others, which is an interference to cooperation at schools and at work.

On the other hand, the permission of making decisions that affect the children’s life benefits them in the long run. As children taking the initiative from the most trivial things, it can be an invaluable opportunity for them to learn to tackle with their own problems, thereby training them to become a decisive and responsible person. Hence, this ability will be the basis for teenagers to lead an independent life. To illustrate, when facing the choice between their favourite high-end clothing brand versus the less prohibitive one, children will have to do the cost-effect analysis on their own in order to make the most suitable decision, which is tantamount to the choices of schools or career path when they grow up.

In a nutshell, this method of children’s upbringing can make teenagers become more mature, yet they may find it hard to integrate in team work because of their unwillingness to take other people’s opinions into account.