Environmental protection is a debating topic nowadays. It is argued by some people that single person cannot do anything to keep the atmosphere clean while government and huge firms can protect the atmosphere because they have control and enough funds to do so. This essay will discuss that every distinct person can make difference.

Individuals can save the environment as a whole. For instance, there is an old saying, “success is the sum of the small efforts-repeated day in and day out”. For example, if every person in the UK saves one piece of paper daily, a million trees can be saved in a day. Additionally, if everyone stops utilizing things which are not environmental friendly then it would have a gigantic influence on big companies and they would definitely find some eco-friendly replacements. For example, in Canada, when ordinary people stopped using plastic bags in the market, their manufacturer stopped producing those and replaced them with fabric or paper bags. For these reasons, we should realize our worth and should fulfill our part to protect and make the environment clean.

Conversely, we cannot ignore the role of government and big companies to protect the environment. There is no doubt that to solve a large-scale problem like global warming, government and large industries should utilize their assets and powers. Additionally, the government should protect the environment by enforcing laws and through public awareness campaigns.

This essay discussed that people who believe that a single person cannot do anything to protect the atmosphere have a flawed understanding and underestimate the power of an individual. In my opinion, everyone should take responsibility to protect the environment. Government and big corporations should design rules and make use of their influences and assets to implement the rules and regulations while individual should follow those directions and contribute to environmental protection.