Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment, only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The urgency of environmental protection has truly hit home over the past few decades since we saw a vast variety of either marine pollution or “Amazon desert”. The issue of whether individuals are not able to contribute to save the earth along with governments and large corporations remains a subject of intense debate. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the idea mentioned above.

There are three main reasons why it takes all the community to tango when it comes to protecting nature. First of all, the government is by no means capable of mitigating the matter of contaminated ecosystem without us, tax payers. To his this one on the head, national budget is allocated to run multiple reforestation programmes as well as ameliorating natural habitat owing to taxes paid annually. Secondly, it is completely pragmatic for the public to have ample far-reaching impacts on the earth by replacing natural resources with sustainable and environmentally friendly energy ones. An illustration here is the growing establishment of solar power system in household, which has recently become a tendency in developing and developed countries.

Finally, yet, it cannot be argued that huge companies are prominent factors in environmental preservation. They predominantly focus on minimizing the damage caused by their own industrial activities, from restricting exhaust fumes to relieving relatively high proportion of hazardous substances dumped into the sea. Only by turning to use public transportation or relegating plastic bags will local people make a corresponding difference, however. All in all, it can be concluded that the ecosystem is being improved tremendously by every single part of the society.

For these reasons, it is my personal belief that regardless of who we are, normal citizens or politicians, we always play an equal role in the pressing problem of environmental pollution.