Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Environmental degradation, which means the destruction of the environment by manmade activities has become a heavy threat in today’s world. The idea that only governments and multi-national organizations can help to improve the environment is still controversial whereas, individuals can also contribute towards this aspect. In my opinion, individuals can help with the betterment of the environment.

When it comes to huge organization or rather a government, they constitute a group of people who work there and still the concern of the individuals in beginning the relevant measures for helping the environment. Once, human being implements a change, it would give inspiration for others thus, setting an initial step of a massive difference. For example, the paper is produced by cutting down millions of trees every year, if one person chooses to save one sheet of paper a day it would create a massive difference by saving thousands of trees every day and promotes afforestation.

On the other hand, organizations can spread awareness among their employees and could offer suggestive measures such as using public transport, providing tree saplings and so on. When Individuals begin to follow certain practice like avoiding materials that highly disturb the environment, it could make a positive impact by motivating others. For example, they can avoid purchasing plastic bags while shopping, which is non-biodegradable and contaminates the soil, instead can carry cloth bags when going to stores.

In my opinion, I disagree that only organizations can make a huge difference in preserving the environment but also it is the people's responsibility to preserve the environment.