Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

In recent decades, the question of whether government should take responsibility for environmental protection or not has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although the impact of government and large-scale enterprises in this situation is not without important, individuals’ contribution to improve the environment should not be underestimated.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that impacts of government and companies on the environmental issues is significant. First, since government can enact rules and principles, residents are responsible for abiding by the laws. It means in any circumstances, a person has some behaviors to cause environmental degradation, such as littering waste, authorities will have some strict punishments, which provides fresh air in the residential areas. Second, in order to implementing resonated influences, the importance of firms is significant. In fact, by concentrating on producing eco-friendly products and building waste disposal treatment, companies contribute to green effects to the environment.

On the other hand, there are a whole host of reasons why individuals play a key role in this activity. First, in order to raise the awareness of residents, people can give their hands to prevent environment from harmful behaviors. For example, they can participate in voluntary projects and encourage people to save electricity in their neighborhood, which can be conducive to our natural resources. Second, if each person pays more attention to the severe threats to the nature, they can adjust their bad habits in daily life. This means they can consume less, recycle more and practice zero-waste lifestyle, thereby making our environment a sustainable development.

In conclusion, the role of residents in protecting the environment is far more significant than authorities. By taking part in the environment campaigns, such as Global Hours, individuals take steps to raise awareness to make our environment become a worth-living place.