Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The environment has been a subject that attracts great attention. Some people argue that each person can not be able to take action to develop a sustainable environment and only authorities and powerful companies can greatly contribute to improve the surrounding area. From my perspective, I totally disagree with this viewpoint.

On the one hand, the government and large companies have intensive influences on protecting the environment. Firstly, due to their responsibility and power, they can raise funds from citizens and organize the campaign to contribute to protect environmental sustainability as reforestation, wild animal conservation. Secondly, they can have more opportunities to raise environmentally friendly consciousness of the local people by exposing advertisements through social media. In addition to this, governments can set some strict rules to restrict using fossil fuel, illegal logging and encourage residents to utilize public transportation and alternative resources.

On the other hand, individuals can be responsible for remaining green environment as well. Each person can do small activities such as plant trees, clean their surroundings or using biodegradable items to be more eco-friendly regardless of their ages and jobs. Moreover, youngsters should take part in some volunteer activities with no interest to help the organization access to the environmental issue. For instance, many celebrities all around the world take a lot of money to hire helicopters carrying burgeon of water in order to put out the burning forest in Brazil this year.

In conclusion, the authorities and powerful companies may have more duty on remaining a sustainable surrounding but individuals still need to pay attention and endeavor to solve environmental problems.