Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities.

To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's technology-driven world, the ubiquitous use of information technology has brought astronomical effects on human's lives. Its domination ranges from people's home to their leaisure and work lives. From my point of view, although there are certain dilemmas with this development, I contend that the advantages of information technology can outweigh those problems.

Admittedly, the proliferation of information technology leads to several drawbacks, chief of which is the exarcabation of mental health of users. It cannot be denied that the more people get access to the Internet, the more they get exposed to hate comments and negative news. Take Facebook users as can example, 75% of them feel withdrawn and overwhelmed by the judges of others on this database, which can make them more prone to depression. This situation would be rampant with the widespread of a multitude of websites and social media. As a result, the lives and mental status of people would be gravely affected by the black shadow and pressures from the information technology.

However, there are a myriad of reasons why I believe that humankinds can get great merits from the information technology. The first thing to notice is that it can enhance and equip people with extensive knowldge. By easily receiving the information about current affairs and the like through numerous means, such as phones, social media and television, they can acquire better understanding about the world. Furthermore, information technology can be the precursor to an integrated world. Undoubtedly, it is a big boon for nations to exchange understandings, cultural values and supports. Hence, the world can assimilate and every country can be given the chance to stand on a global stage.

In conclusion, while the advancement of information technology can, to some extent, lead to several disadvantages, I am of the opinion that the pros of it outweigh the cons, as it fosters the world's unification and diversifies human's knowledge.