intelligent students should be taught separately from other students To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believed that talents should not learn with ordinary students. I agree that geniuses need customized learning plans to fully develop their intellectual endowment, but I do not think they should stay away from the majority.

Special care is essential for fulfilling the potential of intelligent students. They are usually fast learners with deep thought and demonstrate outstanding levels of aptitude or competence in one or more domains, which means standard teaching model would not suit them. Instead, personalized flexible curricula, including supplementary high-level materials and project-oriented teaching styles, should be employed. Besides, talent development programs after school can also be a plus point. Jeff Bezos, for example, the founder of Amazon, was invited to a science program at the University of California, which improved his computer skills and prepared the ground for his career.

While an individualized teaching plan is necessary, separating talents from other students might cost their social development. Due to different mindsets and concerns, most intelligent students suffered from lacking proper social skills. Separation would only deteriorate the situation. There is a study on the graduates from a famous school for talented in China named the University of Science and Technology of China. It suggests that those talents tend to end up to be being specialists rather than CEOs or managers. From the perspective of personal achievement and influence, they have not shown superior accomplishments than other students with a similar intellectual gift but had chosen traditional education.

In conclusion, the development of talents should not come at the cost of social skills. A customized learning plan adding to traditional classes would be better than being separated from the majority.