International sporting events make an important contribution to international peace. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

International sporting events have become a unique part in today's world, whether it is the Olympics, the World cup, or games between club teams from different countries. Generally, I think that these competitions have indeed brought people closer worldwide.

Today, international sporting occasions are actively participated in by many countries or nationalities around the world and more and more nations have put these events on their agendas. For the host nation, it is a great chance to showcase their country to the world in terms of its traditions, customs and social values. As to the athletes and visitors from forign places, they get the perfect opportunity to communicate with people from a whole different background, regardless of their beliefs, skin colours and races. People say that sporting events like these might be the only occasions when people are willing to learn to understand and appreciate each other regardless of differences and disputes because of the inborn features of sports, and therefore it is widely thought that they are hugely beneficial to humanity.

However, with the constant parade of doping cases, people start to question the meaning of these events. It is true that some athletes risk their careers, health, and reputations to cheat their way to the top of the games, but it is also important to recognize that there are far more athletes who are competing in the true spirit of sportsmanship. So although there might be controversy, international sporting events overall bring people together for a good reason and that is why we can see people still cheering for others even when their national teams lose the game.

To conclude, I believe that international sporting events play an irreplaceable role in contributing to world peace, for they remind us that we are actually one species, even if we speak another language, ook different, or are born in a faraway land.