International tourism has become a huge industry in the world. Are the problems that international travelers cause greater than the advantages they bring?

The past few decades have seen a phenomenal upsurge of cross- border travel. While some are concerned that international visitors may cause problems to the countries they visit, I strongly believe that the advantages international travelers bring outweigh the negatives

Initially, all countries have within them people who exhibit undesirable behaviors. International tourists who are not aware of the influence of their actions to the environment throw trash directly onto the water, the road, which can create pollution and wastes. Besides, the rise in tourism is associated with conflict at times between people from different cultures when differing beliefs collide. Foreigners may find it hard to accept others’ tradition and show scare respect for local customs and religious beliefs, which can make them be subjected to custodial sentences. Nevertheless, the far greater impression international travelers leave is a good one. First, it is undoubted that tourism boost the economy and increase foreign currency by means of travel-related services. Tourism attracts the investment from government and international entrepreneurs, which can generate employment opportunities due to demands of goods and services. As a result, individuals’ living standard will be improved. Second, they can also bridge a close bond between different parts of the world. These travelers are like the ambassadors for their countries who help the local people gain international cultural exposures and can cause others to want to visit their countries. Both tourists’ and locals’ perspectives of cultural distinctiveness from all over the world can be significantly broadened. It is fair to say that the development can open up more opportunities for people from all over the world to establish relationships with local inhabitants.

To sum up, I whole-heartedly believe that transnational tourism should be seen as a drive for mutual understanding rather than the cause of tension.