International tourism has become one of the biggest industries in the world. Some people think it unfortunately causes tension rather than understanding between peoples from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, tourism has strongly developed and become one of the main drives for the economies of many countries. In particular, international tourism has played an important role in culture exchanges between countries. However, there are concerns that the flows of foreign visitors bring more tension to the destination countries. In my opinion, I would rather disagree with it because of the following reasons.

First, by traveling abroad and visiting other countries and territories, people can experience and feel the real life and cultures of the places they visit. As a proverb says:”seeing is believing”, the true scene will definitely has a long-lasting impact on a person. For instance, an American traveler may join a tour to visit a historic prison using during the Vietnam war, so he can have a clear image of how fierce and scary the war is. It would be more influential to him compared with the photos or books he has read about that war.

On the other hand, the governments usually organize the tourism promotion campaigns to attract and increase the number of the foreign visitors. Those activities will help to spread the image of people and culture of each country worldwide. By this way, everyone will have the opportunities to approach and get familiar with various cultures around the world.

Overall, I would say that I am convinced by the advantages of international tourism in term of encouraging the understanding between countries, even though there are still some people hold that it leads to a great deal of tension.