International travel has many advantages to both travelers and the country that they visited. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Foreign tourism has been an industry of which both destinations and travelers can take advantage. While this may bring about a number of detrimental effects, I would argue that it offers more benefits.

On the one hand, multinational travel is recognized as a major contributing factor of several social concerns. From a health perspective, tourist discovering a new region will expose to an unusual climate pattern as well as flora and fauna, which may carry health risk. For example, if Western tourists travel to a tropical Asian country, they will be vulnerable to dangerous ailments like flu or rare infectious diseases, accidentally leading to a global outbreak of an epidemic. From a social perspective, at attractions which swarm with tourists, such behaviors violating local codes of conduct as littering or smoking in restaurants are witnessed due to visitors’ lack of social conscience. Consequently, residents are deprived of tranquility and social order, which exerts negative impacts on the entire community.

On the other hand, I opine that the benefits of international tourism are more significant. Regarding to travelers, no sooner do they pay a visit to a foreign heritage than they contemplate its aesthetic quality and entirely grasp the sophistication of local civilization. This not only helps them enrich their experience but also develops mutual understanding between nations, which cannot be reaped by domestic tourism. Regarding to destinations, it is believed that if they are thronged with tourists, the region can create its prosperity and dramatically flourish. Indeed, in order to have the holiday of a lifetime, travelers never hesitate to break the bank; therefore, this results in a massive flux of money and a heating demand of employees in service sector.

Briefly, while disadvantages of multinational tourism should not be overlooked, I believe that they are outweighed by its benefits.