"International travel has many advantages to both travelers and the country visited.

Do you think advantages outweigh disadvantages?"

The past five decades have witnessed a dramatic increase in international holidaymaking. It is an indisputable fact that this trend brought significant values to both holidaymakers and host countries. However, I intend to argue that the overall impact of international tourism has actually been negative. The primary benefits and drawbacks associated with this trend are as follows.

On the one hand, it is an undeniable fact that international tourism brings major benefits to tourists and destination countries. Tourists are able to widen their horizons and acquire intimate knowledge about new cultures. A particularly salient example of this is that tourists who visit Vietnam might consume scrumptious foods entailing exotic delicacies or traditional cuisine, for example, coconut worms, balut, or broken rice. Further and even more importantly, though, global tourism has also brought with it undeniable economic prosperity. Destination countries enjoyed great benefits from traveling activities. Other thriving businesses associated with tourism are also booming.

On the other hand, international holidaymaking also exports negative aspects of western culture and creates adverse environmental impacts. While destitute people cannot afford to travel to faraway places, developing countries such as Vietnam, Thailand, or Indonesia have become the playgrounds of the wealthy from affluent ones. As a result, the influx of mainly western tourists brought to these poverty-stricken countries thorny problems such as prostitution, alcoholism, and drug abuse. Even more disturbing, though, is the environmental degradation resulting from international tourism in many parts of the world. A specifically notable example of this is the Great Barrier Reef in Australia where countless boats, divers, and snorkeler have gradually destroyed vast sections of coral. I believe that those pressing matters require greater regulation of global tourism.

By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my position that international tourist industry may cause numerous issues at large. Though they are by no means insurmountable, it is highly unlikely that they are fixed in the foreseeable future.