Economic growth is the only way to end world poverty. However, some people say it leads to environmental damage and should be stopped. To what extent do you agree?

It is beyond dispute that economic development is essential to raise the living conditions of the poor worldwide. However, it is also argued that economic advancement might give rise to negative effects on the environment and therefore, should be totally restricted. Whilst I partially agree that economic growth is necessary and also might have an adverse influence on the environment, I believe that is is not necessarily the case that economic development should be banned.

On the one hand, there are a multitude of convincing explanations as to why economic development is crucial to improve the living standards of the destitute. For example, economic growth enables nations to produce more value and permit them to create a large number of foods to serve the poor. Other social facilities such as hospitals or educational institutions could also be built to improve the mental and physical health of the destitute. In addition, the labour market also provides the destitute with more job opportunities and therefore, joblessness would no longer be a burning issue. The destitute are therefore able to make ends meet and raise their living conditions.

On the other hand, it is no doubt true that economic growth might result in detrimental effects on the environment. Indeed, whilst more factories are built to make new products, they could also empty toxic waste into the rivers and oceans. Gas emissions and exhaust fumes including harmful gases such as carbon dioxide and nitrogen oxide are also more likely to be released into the air and therefore, might lead to air pollution and acid rain. In addition, whilst people place heavy emphasis on agriculture, deforestation might also become a severe problem, followed by the extinction of endangered and protected animals such as leopards, rhinos, or tigers. However, given the considerable benefits of economic advancement, I oppose the idea that economic development should be banned. The rationale behind my opinion is that there are a wide range of appropriate measures could be adopted in order to alleviate environmental problems. For instance, governments could impose stricter laws to reduce gas emissions and the toxic wastes that are released into the environment. The governments could also take effective actions to protect forests and endangered animals. Furthermore, manufacturing firms might apply state-of-the-art technologies to limit the toxic substances that they produce and empty into the biosphere.

In conclusion, there are a multitude of possible reasons regarding why economic advancement is essential to support the destitute. Whilst I agree that such development might cause detrimental effects on the biosphere, I oppose the view that economic development should be totally stopped.