Many countries today are experiencing high levels of migration from rural areas to cities. What are the causes of this trend, and what effects does it have on the existing city dwellers? Give reasons for your answer, and provide ideas and examples from your own experience.

While country towns were once vibrant and growing places, in this day and age many appear to be dying as many rural dwellers has been moving to cities in search of work and excitement. In this essay, I intend to discuss the plausible explanations for this trend and its impact on urban dwellers.

First of all, it is an indisputable fact that there was an influx of country dwellers into metropolises as a result of the high joblessness in the countryside. Rural residents are flocking to big cities searching for job opportunities offered by a variety of multinational companies and local companies in urban areas. One particularly salient example of this is the business-oriented Ho Chi Minh City where it provides migrants with thousands of new jobs monthly. Further, rural dwellers would find the idea of country life far more appealing if services and facilities in the country were more readily available.

Surprisingly, the most serious consequences of this worrying tendency are usually felt in urban areas. As a result of overcrowding, cities throughout the world these days are increasingly prone to environmental degradation such as air, water, and noise pollution. One especially notable example of this is Beijing. What is more, the uncontrolled growth of cities also gives rise to societal problems such as high unemployment, crime, and in less affluent nations, the creation of slums. The regulation of migration would be, therefore, warranted.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my perspective that the living standards of city residents would be negatively influenced due to rural depopulation and this is unlikely to be resolved in the foreseeable future. However, its impacts are by no means insurmountable and I am convinced that more people would choose the country as the city life becomes more uncomfortable and more expensive.