In many countries women no longer feel the need to get married. Some people believe that this is because women are able to earn their own income and therefore do not require the financial security that marriage can bring.

To what extent do you agree?

It is no doubt true that women in some nations prefer to be single or become single parents. Whilst I agree that women are increasingly achieving financial independence and therefore, they might not necessarily rely on the financial support from their would-be spouses, however, there are also some other possible reasons as to why some women hardly need to tie the knot.

On the one hand, it is not necessarily the case that women bank on men regarding financial support. Indeed, women can act as breadwinners in families. Specifically, it seems that more women are well educated in today society than in the past. They are also seen as more astute and more able to deal with multitasking than men. Consequently, many women have become middle-income earners or even high-income earners. As such, men are not necessarily seen as the ones who bring home the bacon. By contrast, women are financially independent and are therefore able to bring up their children well or have the ability to live independently without facing severe financial issues.

On the other hand, there are other plausible explanations as to why women might not be interested in marriage. For example, on the grounds that militant feminists have made a significant contribution to gender equality, women are now more likely to believe in themselves. They are capable of establishing high self-esteem and more likely to believe in their own value. In addition, women are inclined to have more hobbies than in the past. For instance, they can travel to many different tourist attractions worldwide and join in a variety of sporting activities even extreme sports traditionally played by men such as skydiving or bungee jumping. Furthermore, a multitude of women are shifting their focus towards their careers rather than families. They are inclined to make a lucrative income and enjoy their brilliant careers.

In conclusion, whilst I agree at financial reasons are likely to give rise to single-parent families or single women, I also sincerely believe that there are also other convincing explanations as to why women might choose not to get married.