In many countries, people are moving away from rural areas and towards urban areas.

Why do you think that is?

What problems can this cause?

On the one hand, there are an abundance of possible reasons regarding why rural residents are inclined to move to metropolises and cause rural depopulation. First, whilst joblessness is known as a common phenomenon in the countryside, there are a wealth of job opportunities in big cities. This is so because a myriad of local and international businesses are built up in big cities thanks to the good infrastructure in the urban areas. Consequently, youngsters tend to move to cities to improve their job prospects and climb up the career ladder. In addition, metropolises provide citizens with a great number of facilities such as universities, hospitals, cinemas, and theatres. As such, teengagers are able to pursue higher education at cities in addition to enjoying a wide range of recreational activities such as watching movies on large screens.

On the other hand, this phenomenon could lead to pressing matters for today society. For example, the overpopulation in big cities might give rise to pollution that causes detrimental effects on local residents. Indeed, on the grounds that cities are becoming overcrowded, the number of vehicles is rapidly increasing in order to meet the needs of those immigrants. In turn, these vehicles produce a large amount of exhaust fumes that lead to air pollution. In addition, rural dwellers also empty toxic waste into the environment resulting in water pollution. Furthermore, whilst a large number of immigrants approach metropolises, the living conditions of city dwellers can be affected. For example, there is not enough accommodation and other infrastructure to serve urban citizens. As a results, a lot of people are forced to live in slum areas and many people cannot use the social facilities such as hospitals or education institutions.

In conclusion, there are many convincing explanations as to why there is a growing tendency that rural citizens are moving to urban areas such as fruitful career opportunities in metropolises. However, this is also known as a worrying tendency because this can result in overpopulation and its consequences such as pollution.