With a fast pace of modern life more and more people are turning towards fast food for their main meals. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The past decade has experienced a dramatic increase in the availability of fast food due to the fast pace of life. Whilst there remains some disagreement as to whether this is a positive or a negative trend, I intend to argue that this is a worrying tendency and fast food is detrimental to individuals and families at large. There are two primary reasons for this.

First of all, it is an indisputable fact that fast food brings about major health problems for people. The food such as hamburgers, chips, or fried chicken which are incredibly high in fat and salt are responsible for a multitude of ailments, for instance, high blood pressure, obesity and heart diseases. Moreover, the cost and inconvenience of treating illnesses for those people who consume a large amount of fast food are significant in later life. Put differently, fast food is beneficial in the short term but the long-term influences are somewhat negative.

Further and even more importantly, though, eating fast food to excess has adverse effects at the family level. Promotion campaigns of fast food chains deliberately attempt to attract young children and shape unhealthy eating habits of them. Having grown up eating fast food, they are inclined to consume a large amount of fast food throughout their adult lives. As a result, both juveniles and adults are less likely to spend quality time with their beloved ones and avoid bonding with other family members. They are prone to swallow their fast food quickly to catch up on their work or eagerly devour their food in front of a computer terminal in lieu of sitting around the table to stark a conversation while eating. This phenomenon would demolish the bonding between youngsters and older generations, thereby widening the generation gaps.

By way of conclusion, I again reaffirm my position that fast food is more likely to result in negative impacts on both individuals and families. Given these risks, I believe that public education campaigns encouraging people to consume fast food in moderation would be warranted.