The Internet has as many disadvantages as it does advantages.To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Since its development in the 1970s, the Internet has become a key tool for obtaining information and for communication all over the world. The Internet has both advantages and disadvantages but, overall, I believe the advantages are stronger than the disadvantages.

Firstly, the Internet has made work and social life much easier. Sending emails and using video conferencing in the workplace have made business quicker and more efficient. Eor example, in the past, people often had to travel long distances for meetings ard now they can video call instead. Also the Internet makes it easier to keep in contact with family and friends through email and social networking websites. People can give friends and relatives their news quickly and easily. In addition, meetings, parties and social events for large groups of people are easier to organise in this way. Einaly, finding out information online is much quicker than visiting libraries or making expensive phone calls.

On the other hand, people claim the Internet has disadvantages. Some people say that the Internet makes people lazy. Eor example, people nów do lots of things online, like shopping and socialising, when it might be better for them to do these things in the 'real" world. Furthermore, the Internet contains a lot of informetion which is not correct. This is because anyone can put anything they want on the Internet and it is not always checked for accuracy or truth. Users need to be sure that the websites they look at'are reliable sources of information.

In conclusion, although it has advantages and disadvantages, the Internet has made life so much easier in so many ways, that, as long as people know how to use it effectively, it can be an excellent tool.