The Internet means people do not have to travel to foreign countries to learn about their lives and culture. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The Internet has always been classified as a powerful source of information as it is portable, rich, and versatile. Personally, when human culture and lives are involved, the Internet can only do so much in providing to individuals around the world. This has to do with two primary factors, which will be further elaborated in this essay.

To start with, there is no denying that the reliability of a large proportion of information on the Internet is somewhat questionable. For example, the various concepts about dirty tradition in Vietnam revolving around animal cruelty are completely falsified. The current state of animal cruelty in Vietnam has been manifesting into a serious problem, but it has never been the tradition of the country. In fact, there has been a great number of protests against such inhumane actions in Vietnam, whether they are online or physical. Such false information on the Internet not only jeopardizes the reputation of Vietnam but also potentially causes deep misunderstandings to students all across the globe.

Moreover, the Internet can only provide a virtual experience of certain regions and their culture based on satellite images and data from different journalists. While there is nothing wrong with learning human culture via the Internet, it is crucial to know that personal experience has been deemed one of the most effective ways of internalizing one’s culture and daily routine. Meanwhile, different online articles are lengthy and confusing, which can make readers forget very fast.

In conclusion, the Internet is such a rich source of information especially about human lives and culture around the world. However, I would like to restate that using the Internet as a substitution for experiencing the arts and histories of different countries is such a short-sighted intention.