It is common practice for some students to take a gap year between high school and university in order to do charitable work abroad in underdeveloped countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages for young people of doing volunteer work?

Taking a gap year is popular among students especially in developed regions. During a gap year, some students participate in volunteer work in order to gain practical experiences and understand of other cultures while this could delay their studies and which can cause financial issues. In this essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of taking a voluntary work during the gap year.

There are several benefits of taking a gap year and conduct a voluntary work. Firstly, this can provide practical experiences. While students take a gap year, usually they spent those times doing a charitable work so that they can gain diverse skills from socialisation, effective communication and team work. Furthermore, they may able to adapt the differences in culture, tradition, custom and languages by working in underdeveloped nations. Therefore, taking a gap year to do voluntary work brings several advantages to students.

On the other hand, this is not having only advantages. There are some drawbacks of taking a gap year which may involve psychologically and financially. Students may have difficulty to adapt the environments as usually developing countries are lacking of various facilities which can even affect their daily lives. For example, it is very common to see that oversea students experience depression, loneliness and homesick in foreign countries. Moreover, since they are losing of few years of university study, this can delay their profession career lifestyles. In other words, students who took a gap year may start their career later than those who did not take a gap year. As a result of this, psychological and financial issues can be the significant drawback for taking a gap year.

In conclusion, every aspect of decisions has benefits and drawbacks. Taking a gap year has benefit of learning practical skills and understanding of foreign cultures whereas homesickness and delaying in career cannot be avoidable.