It is difficult for many people to create a balance between their professional and their personal life.

What are the causes?

What can be done to solve this problem?

Balancing professional and personal life has become a great challenge for a lot of people owing to increased competition at workplace than ever before, hence professionals spend a larger part of their time at work. This essay will try to come up with some suitable solutions.

Firstly, many people are finding it unmanageable to have an equilibrium between work and social life due to strong contention at workplaces. Workers these days compete for promotion as well as recognition. For instance, studies have constantly shown that numerous employers reward the employees who dedicate most of their time to their jobs. Therefore, this has pushed the workforce to extend their working hours at the expense of personal lives. In contrast, if it was not for positions and packages that comes along with awards, people could spend their time fairly at both home and work. The only viable solution to prevent subordinates from contesting each other at work is to encourage team building and togetherness.

Another cause why people find it challenging to distribute enough time on both personal and professional lives is that they would like to supplement their incomes. For example, health professionals have been found to be spending most of their off duty days at work in order to magnify their salaries. In actual fact, nurses, doctors and other experts continue to work even if they have been given time to rest so that they gain more at the end of the month. In addition, the shortage of skilled labour in some professional fields has seen more pressure being exerted on available few workers to remain at their work stations after knocking off duty. There are two suggested ways to overcome these reasons, first, companies have to offer attractive salaries and other none monetary incentives so that workers will be satisfied and never extend their shifts. Second, employers should consider recruiting qualified workers globally to boost their workforce and relax duties.

In conclusion, competition and quest to increase monthly incomes, are two main causes for personal and professional life imbalance. However, team building and offering of handsome salaries have been suggested to be proper answers to this.