It is difficult for people in the cities getting enough physical exercise. What are the causes and solutions?

It is argued that getting enough physical exercise is starting to be difficult for those who live in the cities. this essay will discuss the possible causes of this phenomenon and propose plausible solutions.

Nowadays, cities are experiencing more traffic jams than ever, with the rise in the use of personal vehicles. But what does this have to do with people not getting enough exercise in? Living in big cities leads people to live frenetic lives, leaving them with a number of things to do such as working, picking kids up from school, taking care of the house, etc., and all the free time vanishes while they wait in traffic. For example, in a big city like Rome, it is proven that during rush hours, it will take up to one hour for somebody to get across town. And almost nobody chooses to cycle to work because there are no cycle tracks and the roads are too dangerous.

A possible solution to this state of affairs could be an investment from the Government in making possible for people to get more exercise in. How? For example, by implementing the number of cycle tracks, or by giving incentives to those who walk or cycle to their working places. Public transports should be implemented, to relieve cities from the intense traffic situations, maybe even offering free subway tickets to those who perform at least 20 squats, just it is done in Russia since 4 years. Similarly, since being physically active is so important in order to be healthy, a program of free gym memberships or collective gym classes should be organized by employers.

To conclude, our hectic lives can make being active and fit a real struggle, but with small improvements, big changes could be easily made.