It is difficult for people in the cities getting enough physical exercise. What are the causes and solutions?

Today, urban residents find it almost impossible to get an adequate workout and stay in shape. While several triggers are lying behind this problem, many reliable methods can be applied to tackle it.

On the one hand, this disturbing reality is rooted in two main reasons. Firstly, the hectic schedule of modern society has swept metropolitans into the vortex of work, study, and family. Many city dwellers do not have enough time for sleep, let alone daily workouts. Children have to occupy themselves with school assignments and examinations while adults must focus most of their time and effort on their career in order to climb the promotion ladder. These kinds of study and work commitment deprive of their time for sufficient exercise. Secondly, in today’s digital age, individuals tend to spend their free time on virtual entertainments like online games or social media websites instead of taking physical training. Since such virtual activities are highly addictive and time-consuming, the more time they spend on them, the more dependent they become. This results in them preferring a sedentary lifestyle and neglecting other energetic and healthy activities.

On the other hand, there are still many feasible solutions for this issue. At first, governing and educational bodies could introduce new regulations in order to reduce weekly working and studying time to an acceptable amount. As a result, people would have more time for energetic exercises. Furthermore, despite the fact of being busy, city residents could and should integrate physical activities into their daily lives such as walking more or taking the stairs whenever possible. Finally, authorities and social organizations should promote the benefits of doing workouts, thus raising citizens’ awareness of staying healthy by doing physical activities and encouraging them to spend their spare time on exercising every day.

In conclusion, although there are two primary reasons which cause lacking physical activities of urban dwellers, various attainable measures can be adopted to eliminate this concern.