Essay: Some people say that the increasing business and cultural contact between countries is a positive development, while other people think that other countries will lose their national identities as a result. Discuss both views, and give your opinion.

There are conflicting views in terms of whether the growth in global trade activities and cultural interactions among countries is advantageous, or such development is the culprit behind the degradation of cultural identity in many countries.

On the one hand, many people think that national identity can disappear if cultural and business bonding among countries are strengthened. This is because the constant stream of marketing campaigns by international firms has led to the dominance of foreign eating habits and fashion trends, whereas indigenous lifestyles and languages become less favorable among young generations. Therefore, they could try to imitate those foreign cultures and languages blindly and change their traditional ways of life. Thus, a large number of minority languages are on the edge of extinction as their people prefer to communicate in widely used languages like English or Chinese. Taking a look back in the history of humankind, plenty of distinct civilizations are assimilated and vanished, starting with the loss of their own languages.

On the other hand, numerous individuals have a belief that the ever-increasing in cross-cultural communication and international economic cooperation is a beneficial process. They presume that the globalization has boosted economic development and created a better intercultural understanding on a global scale. Firstly, this helps people all over the world purchase and sell products at a competitive price, which could lead to promoting productivity and improving the economy. It can also generate more employment opportunities for locals. Secondly, culture exchange allows people to have more contacts with others from different cultural backgrounds, which could eliminate misunderstandings between countries. Therefore, conflicts can be effectively avoided, encouraging a harmonious world.

From my point of view, both arguments are accurate reflections about the possible consequences of the growing economic and cultural interactions among nations. It boosts economic integration and speeds up modernization but also creates tensions between global culture and a country’s national identity. Therefore, we should take the initiative in fighting to protect each nation’s distinct culture and identity from being submerged by the cultural or economic influences of other countries.

In conclusion, the rising international trade has many positive influences on the global economy and world peace. However, its adverse impacts on national identities cannot be neglected.