Young people from rich countries are spending time for unpaid works in poor countries. Why ? Who benefit more, young peole or poor countries ?

There is a growing number of youngsters from prosperous countries doing unsalaried jobs in underdeveloped nations. The reasons for this are many and various and it is beneficial for both young individuals and poverty-stricken countries as a whole.

There are two principal factors which can explain this matter. The first and foremost reason is the spread of information today. The development of media coverage, such as TV, radio, newspaper, and especially the internet, has brought videos and images about the poverty of needy communities to the richer worlds. It has created an urge for the youth to take action. Many young individuals have decided to travel and spend months or even years to help the people who are in need. Another reason is the emergence of cheap airline carriers. This has made it easier for young men and women who have a tight budget to go abroad to remote corners of the world. And doing unpaid jobs pays bonuses for both young people and less developed communities.

On the one hand, participating in voluntary works benefits young generation not also in their upcoming jobs but also in their future lives. This might broaden their horizons and experiences about the local cultures and indigenous people. Young adult would have a profound understanding about the misery and hardship of needy native people. This will make them learn about the value of money and foster a great sense of humanity and selflessness, which can help those young adult develop spiritually and bring them a feeling of self-satisfaction. In addition, those graduates and undergraduates will build their own social network and polish their resumes by getting involved in social activities such as teaching and building accommodation for the poor.

On the other hand, people in underprivileged nations would gain a lot of benefits from the work of young volunteers from affluent countries. This would heighten their living standards to some extent. The goods, work and knowledge given by those youngsters might have a significant impact on improving living conditions for the people in local communities, especially who are suffering from natural disasters such as earthquake or tsunami.

In conclusion, there is a variety of reasons why the youth from developed countries have gone to underdeveloped countries to do voluntary works. And the volunteers who give help and the communities that receives assistance might gain equal benefits.