Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

Undoubtedly, scientific studies have played an essential role in human developments. Many people think that it must be governments’ responsibility for conducting and managing them, rather than private sectors. I totally agree with this opinion due to a few reasons.

Firstly, scientific activities often require long-term efforts, significant financial funds and the participation of hundreds or even thousands of researchers. As a result, the power and resources of the authorities enable them to conduct studies on a much larger scale and investment, compared to private firms. This is because authorities can finance more money and adopt other supportive measures, some of which are offering additional welfare and the positions in governments to the scientists, thus attracting more talents and experts to take part in the projects.

Secondly, while many people believe that scientific studies conducted by private sectors create more benefits for society because they are done more precisely and efficiently. I would argue that this opinion is definitely wrong. At first, the lack of supervising and managing by governmental organizations in private-run researches results in the risk that these studies are used for criminal activities. For instance, research achievements in studies related to chemical, biological and nuclear weapons could be utilized by terrorists, creating enormous destruction to the country. Furthermore, governments are people-driven and impartial. Consequently, they tend to pay more attention to research areas that can benefit society as a whole. Studies related to environmental issues or crime rates are great examples. In contrast, private companies are money-oriented. Therefore, they tend to invest in research projects that are more profitable. In addition, when the funding comes from a private organization, the results could be biased to ensure there is a favorable outcome for the funding institution.

In conclusion, although private companies should not be deprived of the right to do researches, I firmly believe that scientific studies must be conducted and monitored by governments.